The end of the first half-term

Glad sjö

Sorglig sjö

Solen skiner

Jorden brinner

Slut på haikun kommer nu.

Just a useless piece of haiku I made up on my way to the campus one day. It doesn’t even follow the established structure of a haiku rhyme.

Anyway, the first half-term is over now, and with it the two first courses, Introduction to Game Analysis and Design and the Swedish Communication Course.

The Swedish Communication Course ended with the fourth assignment,

* to give a speech on a freely chosen topic (in Swedish)

This last assignment was quite interesting since we could pick whatever topic we wanted. And so I picked a topic about an issue which has boggled my mind for a long time and that is the discovery of America and the subsequent destruction of native American civilizations. To better prepare for the speech I read one chapter in the book A People’s History Of The United States by Howard Zinn which enriched me with vivid depictions of how horribly the colonists treated the natives. I really enjoyed working on this assignment even though I spent one sleepless night to make it right.

Not so much to tell about the Introduction to Game Analysis and Design course. The group handed in the documentation we prepared and the personal project reports. And then there was a marathon of pitch presentations where every group presented their game designs in concise 5 minute pitches.

This entire project concerned itself with producing game designs only, not the games themselves (and not even the prototypes). However, you cannot expect students who have just begun their formal training in game development and are only 2 months in to do any actual development work. But I don’t know what is going to happen to the game designs we created. Will they be made into actual games or was it all just an exercise in making game designs? So I don’t see much point in discussing our team’s or other teams’ designs in detail right now. When the programming course starts we will have to make actual working games and then new designs will possibly be created. So I’m skipping design talk for now as development is what interests me most.

This entry was posted in Studies at Campus Gotland. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment